Are Doritos Gluten-Free? List Of Gluten Free

logo by Editorial Staff | Updated on July 28th, 2022

Frito Lay claims one flavor of Doritos is gluten-free: DORITOS® Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips.

  • However, Doritos have no gluten-containing components.
  • The only gluten-free Doritos type is the Simply Organic White Cheddar flavor Doritos. On the Frito Lay website, you may find a complete list of Frito Lay chips with gluten-free claims.
  • Doritos have not been confirmed to have fewer than 20 ppm of gluten without a gluten-free label (the labeling guidelines set forth by the FDA).
  • Could Doritos have less than 20 ppm of sodium? Absolutely. Because the product has not been tested, it cannot be marketed as gluten-free.

Products without gluten ingredients vs. products with gluten ingredients

Frito-Lay manufactures Doritos in the United States. Frito-Lay divides its gluten-free goods into two categories: Gluten-Free and Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients.

brown star shaped cookies on white surface

Gluten Free: According to the firm, items with the words “gluten-free” on the package have been analytically certified to have less than 20 ppm of gluten.

Gluten-free products include the following: According to Frito-Lay, items in this category do not include gluten components; some may be made on the same lines as gluten-containing products.

Frito-Lay has not tested these goods for gluten content, despite claims that the lines are cleaned between production runs.

Furthermore, Frito-Lay claims that the components in these products may have been in touch with gluten-containing goods before manufacture.

Doritos are composed of what?

Doritos are available in various varieties at grocery shops, but some of the most popular include nacho cheese and cool ranch. Let’s look at their ingredients to see whether they’re gluten-free.

Doritos Nacho Cheese flavored tortilla chips are created using the following components, according to the Doritos website:

“Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola, And/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (Made From Corn), Salt, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Whey, Monosodium Glutamate, Buttermilk, Romano Cheese (Part-skim Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Whey Protein Concentrate, Onion Powder, Corn Flour, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Dextrose, Tomato Powder, Lactose, Spices, Artificial Color (Yellow 6, Yellow 5, And Red 40), Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Skim Milk, Red And Green Bell Pepper Powder, Disodium Inosinate, And Disodium Guanylate.”

Doritos Nutrition Info (Nacho Cheese)

Serving Size: 1 oz (28g/About 12 chips)

Total Calories: 150

Amount Per Serving%DV *
Total Fat 8g10%
Saturated Fat 1g5%
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 170mg7%
Total Carbohydrate 17g6%
Total Fat 8g
Dietary Fiber 1g4%
Sugars 0g 
Protein 2g 
Calcium 30mg2%

What exactly is gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products that function as a “glue” to keep wheat, barley, Kamut, spelled, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together.

Gluten is naturally present and hence cannot be removed from the grain. No way to make a grain gluten-free if it naturally contains gluten.

Do Doritos contain gluten?

I think Nacho Cheese is the iconic Doritos taste, closely followed by Cool Ranch. Unfortunately, there are no wheat items in the Nacho Cheese Doritos components. After discovering this, I returned to the Frito-Lay website and saw a list of goods that have been thoroughly tested and certified gluten-free. Unfortunately, Doritos were not on the list of gluten-free items, which disappointed me, but they were on another list of products designated as not having gluten components.

Frito-Lay does not consider Doritos gluten-free since there is a possibility of cross-contamination with wheat during manufacturing. Unfortunately, this isn’t simply a Doritos problem; brands worldwide struggle with the risk of cross-contamination.

Fortunately, Frito-Lay respects persons with gluten sensitivities and Celiac disease since they only designate things “gluten-free” when there is no risk of cross-contamination.

Does Cool Ranch Doritos contain gluten?

I haven’t personally tested Cool Ranch Doritos for gluten, but a quick peek at the ingredient list indicates that they don’t. The ingredient label mentions that maltodextrin is produced from maize (maltodextrin can be derived from wheat, corn, or other grains).

However, remember that the only gluten-free Doritos are the Simply Organic White Cheddar flavor Doritos. This implies that Frito Lay did not test the Cool Ranch Doritos to guarantee they had fewer than 20 ppm of gluten.

Do Nacho Cheese Doritos contain gluten?

Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips are made gluten-free in the United States but have not been gluten-tested. Doritos Spicy Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips are the same way.

If you’re seeking a safe gluten-free nacho cheese-flavored tortilla chip option, go no further than the selections at the bottom of this page! In addition, there are some excellent gluten-free chip alternatives.

Doritos are safe to eat?

The Organic White Cheddar, certified by Frito-Lay, is the only version proven to be gluten-free and safe to ingest.

The answer to whether or not the other Doritos varieties are safe to eat on a gluten-free diet is unclear.

It depends on your reasons for going gluten-free and your gluten sensitivity. However, Frito-Lay acknowledges that there is a risk that Doritos may be contaminated with gluten and advises gluten-sensitive persons to examine the concerns above before ingesting these products.

If you have Celiac disease or are severely sensitive to gluten, you may be able to consume those Doritos without incident. Still, there is a risk that you may receive a bag of Doritos tainted with gluten either before or during manufacture.

Finally, even if there are no gluten-containing components, there is no way to tell how much gluten is in any individual bag of Doritos since Frito-Lay does not validate such goods. Therefore, if you must consume them, you accept some risk of gluten intake.

How much danger is there? Unfortunately, no one knows for certain! This might be Frito-Lay protecting their responsibility while knowing the likelihood of cross-contact is negligible. Or the risk might be highly frequent, so you should consider it. We don’t know!

What Flavors Are Considered “Safe”?

Doritos provides a long array of gluten-free choices. However, for all you traditional Doritos fans, Nacho Cheese and Cool Ranch, and their reduced-fat counterparts, are on the gluten-free Doritos with a potential for cross-contamination. Along with these traditional snack aisle staples, more daring alternatives, such as low-fat Flamas and Wild White Nacho flavored Doritos.

Do you like cheese? Spicy Nacho, Supreme Cheddar, Cheese Explosion Mix, and Organic White Cheddar were the tastes that cut. However, if you want more variety, The Flamas, Jacked Ranch Hot Wings, Poppin’ Jalapeno, Salsa Verde, Taco, Taco Explosion Mix, and Tapatio tastes are also cut.

To round out the top 21, there are the Blaze and Blazin’ Buffalo Explosion tastes and the Dinamita Chile Limn and Fiery Habanero, Rolled varieties.

Doritos in the following flavors are gluten-free:

  • DORITOS Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips

Doritos varieties that do not include wheat, rye, barley, or oats include:

  • DORITOS Blaze Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Cool Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Dinamita Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Flamas Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Poppin’ Jalapeno Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips 
  • DORITOS Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS Tapatio Flavored Tortilla Chips

Lams can only be found in freshwater.

Mussels are long and pointed, whereas clams are spherical and stouter.

Mussels may be found in blue colors such as blue, green, or black, whereas clams can be found in tan, beige, or white.

Mussels have a thread structure called a byssal that produces substrate, whereas clams are found buried in the sand on the seashore.

Mussels are low-maintenance and low-cost, but clams are high-maintenance and high-cost.


Editorial Staff

Our writers, editors, content managers, and SEO specialist. We all take part in crafting amazing articles. We spend hours ensuring that each article is based on facts, researched, and thorough. You'll never want to click the back button to look for more answers other than here!