Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

logo by Editorial Staff | Updated on November 3rd, 2022

Celiac disease is very uncommon, affecting around one in every hundred children. However, this condition is sometimes identified in adults. In this scenario, physicians refer to an unusual expression of the condition. Some folks are also gluten intolerant.


It is characterized by symptoms comparable to celiac disease, persistent constipation, limb numbness, joint discomfort, teeth enamel discoloration, anxiety, and depression.

white and brown heart shaped ornament

As a result, if you have even the smallest suspicion that your body is not gluten-friendly, you should consult a doctor and undergo the appropriate testing. Only the findings will reveal whether or not you require gluten-free items.

Gluten-free cuisine is now widely available. You may even prepare the necessary bread, biscuits, and cakes with modern technology! But what about marshmallows and other sugary treats? Is gluten present in marshmallows? Continue reading to find out what the answer is.

What Exactly Is Marshmallow?

The ancient Egyptians and Greeks are credited with the creation of these delights. The pureed fruit or berries were combined with egg yolk, and pectin was added to thicken this mass. According to one tale, their name was inspired by Zephyr, the deity who shared a recipe with the people.

As a result, this product became the ancestor of marshmallows, originally made from mallow root in the nineteenth century. The mallow root was used to cure sore throats back then. Even today, the typical marshmallow white or pale pink colors are owing to the mallow flowers used to make the treats.

Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

Marshmallow is one of the few desserts whose recipe does not involve gluten or dairy components. Instead, traditional marshmallows are made from fruit or berry purée whisked with egg white, sugar, and pectin (either gelatin or agar).

Does this suggest that those with celiac disease or food allergies can safely eat store-bought marshmallows? Not necessarily, because confectionery production facilities are often used to produce various items, and delicacies may include traces of wheat flour and milk powder.

Furthermore, wide varieties of marshmallows are coated with chocolate glaze, which usually contains allergenic ingredients. As a result, persons with food allergies should choose marshmallows prepared on specific technical lines where products do not come into touch with allergens.

Gluten-hiding ingredients and cause for caution in marshmallows

Check the ingredient list of any marshmallows you want to purchase to ensure no hidden gluten names. Here is a list of popular names for gluten (note that this is not a complete list but rather a list of some common examples):

  • Wheat
  • Wheat starch
  • Wheat flour
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Bran
  • Flour
  • Malt
  • Triticum vulgare
  • Triticum spelta
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Secale cereal
  • Modified food starch
  • Natural flavors
  • Natural coloring
  • Artificial flavor
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Glucose
  • Maltodextrin (it will say made from wheat; otherwise, it is safe on a gluten-free diet)
  • Dextrin (it will say made from wheat; otherwise, it is safe on a gluten-free diet)

How to Check Whether Your Marshmallows Are Gluten-Free

Before purchasing, like with all processed goods, check the nutrition information label. Keep an eye out for apparent gluten-containing components. Take a look at the allergy list for wheat or gluten as well.

If the bag is gluten-free, make sure the food has a “gluten-free” label on the package as well. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, cross-contamination happens when foods come in touch with gluten components during production or preparation.

If an item has a gluten-free label on the container, you can confidently put it in your shopping basket. According to the FDA, these labels indicate that the product has 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten or less, indicating that the item is typically safe for persons with gluten sensitivity or intolerance.

A Certified Gluten-Free seal may also appear on some packaged items. These symbols indicate that a reputable third-party agency has examined the product. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization is one of the most popular third parties that employ stringent requirements, certifying items containing only 10 ppm of gluten.

What Can Gluten-Free Marshmallows Be Used For?

These treats are like Zephyr, but they are not the same. They also have a unique characteristic: when cooked, the appropriate marshmallows do not flow but slowly melt, preserving flavor and developing a delicate texture, and when roasted over the fire, they are coated with a crust on the exterior. As a result, marshmallows may now be used in various ways.

One of the most typical use is as an addition to chocolate and coffee with milk foam. Small lozenges’ consistency changes somewhat when they warm up, becoming softer, airier, and more viscous.

Marshmallows may be used to make delicious hotcakes. Heated pastilles can be rolled in colorful sugar sprinkles for cakes, creating a delightful and visually appealing treat for the youngster. In addition, marshmallows are used to garnish cakes and pastries, turning them into true works of art.

Brands of Marshmallow

You may be wondering if marshmallows contain gluten. Many firms substitute maize starch for wheat starch or wheat derivatives. Furthermore, marshmallows are gluten-free if they contain less than twenty parts per million (ppm) of gluten. Therefore, gluten traces in such goods should be avoided since they might be detrimental to those with celiac disease. Some gluten-free marshmallow manufacturers include:

  • Vanilla marshmallows from Dandies
  • Marshmallows from Trader Joe’s
  • Doumak’s Campfire Marshmallows

It is important to remember that jet-puffed gluten-free marshmallows may contain traces of gluten. They will not do any harm to people who are gluten intolerant. However, if you have celiac disease, you should avoid them.

Gluten-Free-Specific Labeled Brands

The marshmallows labeled gluten-free by the following companies have been tested and do not contain gluten.

  • Gluten-free Campfire marshmallow.
  • Mini marshmallows from Trader Joe’s are gluten-free and gelatin-free. Dandies Vanilla Marshmallows are gluten-free and vegan.
  • La Nouba Marshmallows are gluten-free, fat-free, and sugar-free.

Brands with Gluten-Free Ingredients

The marshmallows in the following brands may not include gluten components and may not be produced in facilities where cross-contamination is a concern. However, the firms do not officially label or certify their marshmallows as gluten-free. Therefore, they should be safe, but double-check labels or contact the manufacturer because ingredients or manufacturing methods might change without warning.

  • Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows: According to Kraft’s allergy statement, possible allergens are disclosed in all of their items, and the current ingredients list does not include any gluten compounds; nonetheless, the product is not labeled gluten-free. Similarly, Kraft may not be certain whether its ingredient suppliers process such components in the same facility that handles gluten-containing products.
  • Peeps marshmallow treats: According to the company’s FAQ website. At the same time, most of their sweets are gluten-free; some may have been manufactured or packed in facilities that simultaneously handle and package gluten-containing goods.

You can control what goes into them by making gluten-free marshmallows with gluten-free ingredients.

Use this recipe to make natural homemade marshmallows.

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg of apples
  •  6-7 egg whites
  •  2 tsp Gelatin
  •  ¼ cup of water
  •  200 g sugar
  •   Lemon acid

Cooking

  • Allow gelatin to dissolve in cold water for an hour and a half. It will swell and be ready for additional operations throughout this period. Gelatin contains amino acids that aid in preserving connective tissue and cartilage.
  • Cut the washed apples in half and bake them for around 30 minutes at 180 degrees. Remove the cooked apples’ peeling with care. The leftover pulp must be well-mixed. Marshmallow is beneficial largely because it includes apples, which are high in pectin. As a result, it cleanses the body of contaminants, decreases cholesterol, and boosts the body’s tolerance to numerous environmental stressors.

In the resultant apple bulk, combine sugar and citric acid. Next, place the applesauce on the stove and simmer over medium heat until it thickens. Don’t forget to give it a good stir. Allow it to cool.

  • Add the gelatin, intended to expand, and boil until the little crystals dissolve. Don’t forget to keep stirring the mixture.
  • Make a stiff foam with the cooled egg whites and fold it into the apple bulk. Next, pour in a tiny stream of gelatin while constantly churning the material. The egg white has several health benefits, including the removal of pollutants, the stabilization of blood sugar, and the stimulation of brain function.
  • Cover the baking sheet with parchment paper and place the “dough” in a plastic bag. A spoon can spread the bulk gently if you don’t have one.
  • Refrigerate the baking pan with marshmallows for 4 hours or until thoroughly firm.
  • Powdered sugar can be placed on ready-made marshmallows.

How to Keep Gluten-Free Marshmallows Fresh

So now that you’ve finished constructing your Marshmallow, the following step is to preserve it to minimize early damage. Here are the steps to storing gluten-free marshmallows:

  • First, fill a freezer-safe plastic bag halfway with marshmallows.
  • Close it properly and ensure it’s airtight, then place the marshmallow in the freezer until ready to use.
  • When ready to use your frozen marshmallow, take it out of the freezer and let it thaw. It is as good as new when it has defrosted.

This procedure will allow you to keep your marshmallows for three to four months. The marshmallow will not get firm if it is kept in the freezer.

Tip: When storing leftover marshmallows, keep in mind that after a time, it gets sticky; all you have to do is add shredded sugar, coconut toppings, or corn flow when the marshmallow thaw. If your marshmallows are firm, place them in a plastic bag and immerse them in hot water to soften them again.

logo

Editorial Staff

Our writers, editors, content managers, and SEO specialist. We all take part in crafting amazing articles. We spend hours ensuring that each article is based on facts, researched, and thorough. You'll never want to click the back button to look for more answers other than here!