Are Skittles Gluten Free?

logo by Editorial Staff | Updated on July 28th, 2022

Skittles are a popular and iconic candy that comes in many different flavors. However, many people have been asking if Skittles are gluten-free. 

Skittles are gluten-free. I wanted to know so my gluten-free buddies could (hopefully) enjoy this sweet with me.


But let’s get into it a little more.

This is an important question for people with Celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. So, if you’re wondering about the gluten content of your favorite candy, read on for answers to some frequently asked questions about what types of Skittles contain gluten.

Before we go into what’s within Skittles, we should better understand what a gluten restriction includes. In general, gluten is derived from wheat proteins and causes meals to retain their structure. Gluten-containing grains include wheat, barley, and rye.

As a result, gluten-free foods do not include these proteins or wheat.

Skittles’ History

Skittles originated in the United Kingdom and were first imported into the United States in 1979. Skittles were similar to chocolate M&M’s in that they had a multicolored covering, but they tasted quite different.

As the candy became more popular across the country, it began to be manufactured in the United States in 1982.

Due to its expanding popularity, other Skittles products such as sour Skittles, tropical flavored Skittles, and gum-like bubble Skittles were developed in the years that followed.

Skittles Nutrition Facts

  • Flavor: Original
  • Serving Size: 1 ct
  • Total Calories: 230
  • Servings Per Container: 1
Amount Per Serving%DV *
Total Fat 2.5g4%
Saturated Fat 2.5g13%
Trans Fat 0g 
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 20mg1%
Total Carbohydrate 56g19%
Dietary Fiber 0g0%
Sugars 46g 
Protein 0g 

Are skittles gluten-free?

Skittles are both gluten-free and gelatin-free. This is boldly printed on the back of every Skittles wrapper. But first, let’s go through the ingredient list.

Ingredients for Skittles

Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, and less than 2% of the following: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, and Natural and Artificial Flavors. Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Carnauba Wax, Sodium Citrate

Despite the lengthy list, none of these components contain gluten. Corn syrup and corn starch may contain gluten, although they do not. This is why they’re frequently utilized as flour alternatives in gluten-free recipes.

The different gluten-free Skittles 

Skittles are made by Mars Wrigley and come in nine different flavors:

  • Skittles Original
  • Skittles Wild Berry
  • Skittles Tropical
  • Skittles Sour
  • Skittles Orchards
  • Skittles Brightside
  • Skittles Flavor Mash-Ups
  • Skittles Sweet Heat
  • Skittles Sweet and Sours

All of them are gluten-free options.

Skittles are gluten-free certified.

Skittles are not gluten-free as of the time of writing. However, Mars Wrigley does adhere to FDA regulations on candy labeling. Still, if you search for third-party certification from a group like the Gluten Intolerance Group, you will be disappointed.

That is, there is a possibility of cross-contamination. Skittles have no gluten-containing ingredients, although Mars Wrigley cannot assure that there is no cross-contamination.

Is Skittles free of dairy?

If, in addition to avoiding gluten, you follow a dairy-free diet, you may be wondering if Skittles include dairy or dairy derivatives. Fortunately for you (and me! ), Skittles do not include dairy ingredients, making them suitable for a dairy-free diet.

In conclusion

Skittles are gluten-free and hence suitable for a gluten-free diet. They’re also dairy-free, so that you can eat them guilt-free.

If you like Skittles, I hope you can feel okay about eating them on a gluten-free diet now that you’ve read this piece!


Editorial Staff

Our writers, editors, content managers, and SEO specialist. We all take part in crafting amazing articles. We spend hours ensuring that each article is based on facts, researched, and thorough. You'll never want to click the back button to look for more answers other than here!