Is Sour Cream Gluten Free?

logo by Editorial Staff | Updated on January 6th, 2023

Because there are no gluten-containing grains in the goods, most sour cream brands are gluten-free. However, as with any other product, you should examine the ingredients list for any hidden sources of gluten.

What exactly is sour cream?

Sour cream is a type of dairy product prepared from cream fermented with microorganisms. During the fermenting process, the cream develops a sour taste and thickens.

open taco tortilla with tomatoes, sour cream, bean, and beef with cheese flat lay

This item can be used as a condiment, a dip, or even in baking. It adds a rich texture and tangy taste to any meal it’s added to.

What is the composition of sour cream?

Sour cream is a soured cream, as the name indicates. To do this, pasteurized cream is fermented by the addition of lactic acid-producing bacteria.

These bacteria subsequently denature the whey proteins.

As a result, Sour cream is a thickened liquid with a tangy and creamy flavor that may be used in various recipes.

As a result, pure sour cream is gluten-free. The issue is identifying whether store-bought ones are also gluten-free.

Additional ingredients such as whey, modified corn starch, guar gum, carrageenan, and preservatives may be added by certain manufacturers.

The best sour creams have few components, such as cultured cream or cultured cream with enzymes. You don’t need all of the “extras.”

Is sour cream free of gluten?

You may be asking how gluten can be present in sour cream since it is manufactured from milk rather than wheat or cereals. In its purest form, sour cream is nothing more than cream, an acid such as white vinegar or lime juice to thicken the cream, and maybe some salt.

When you buy it commercially, though, you can discover wheat-based chemicals that act as stabilizers or thickeners. If you are sensitive to gluten, you must learn to read food labels to understand whether components include gluten. Food makers may not always state unequivocally if a product contains gluten.

Brands of Gluten-Free Sour Cream

Let’s have a look at some great gluten-free products that we can enjoy guilt-free. There are several possibilities available to us. Almost all of the brands you’ll come across are gluten-free.

Cabot Sour Cream

Cabot’s All Natural Sour Cream is gluten-free and all-natural. Cream, milk, and enzymes are the only components in this sour cream. According to the Cabot website, most of their goods are gluten-free and manufactured in a gluten-free environment.

Organic Valley

Organic Valley’s sour cream is gluten-free, making it a wonderful choice for a gluten-free diet. Organic nonfat milk, organic cream, bacterial cultures, and vegetarian enzyme are the sole ingredients. According to their website, this product is gluten-free and ideal for meals such as cheesecakes.


Darigold’s website verifies that their sour cream selections, both original and Mexican style, are gluten-free.


Nancy’s offers two types of cream: natural and organic. This product is gluten-free, according to their website. Whole milk, cream, nonfat milk, and four cultures are among the components.


Daisy sour cream is the most popular brand in the United States. Their pure and natural sour cream is widely available in most supermarkets. According to this PDF, all Daisy sour cream products are gluten-free. Daisy’s Sour Cream has just cultured milk as an ingredient. This one is even available in a squeezy bottle.


According to the Clover website, their sour cream is gluten-free.

Friendship Dairies

Friendship Dairies’ website states that all their goods, including their sour cream, are gluten-free.


According to their website, Kemps brand sour cream and sour cream-based dips are gluten-free.


This one is more of a cautionary note. While it has no gluten components and should be gluten-free, its gluten-free declaration is ambiguous and makes me nervous.

They say it’s “almost impossible” for each carton to be “100% free of any gluten” and that you should “contact your doctor before introducing a new meal.” That is something I will leave up to you to decide.

However, many gluten-intolerant people can consume this sour cream without issue.

Organic Straus Family Creamery

Straus’ Organic Sour Cream is available in two sizes (8oz and 16oz). Its silky, smooth flavor and texture are derived from only three ingredients: milk, cream, and carefully selected enzymes. It is created in small amounts and is organic, non-GMO, kosher, and gluten-free.

Kite Mountain

For those on a dairy-free diet, Kite Hill offers a dairy-free sour cream alternative. This brand’s sour cream substitute is made from almond milk and coconut oil. According to their website, this brand is also gluten-free.


According to the Tillamook website, “Our Tillamook Sour Cream has no major allergies other than milk, and is made in a facility that does not contain any significant allergens other than milk.”

On a gluten-free diet, you may enjoy this brand of sour cream.


Tofutti is another kind of dairy-free sour cream that is a wonderful alternative if you are allergic to dairy and gluten. To manufacture its sour cream substitute, this company starts with soy milk.

According to Tofutti’s website:

“All Tofutti cheese and sour cream products are gluten-free, as is any distilled vinegar used in Tofutti cheese and sour cream products.”

How can you tell whether sour cream contains gluten?

If it isn’t clearly labeled gluten-free, you’ll need to verify with the manufacturer to see if a particular sour cream is gluten-free, especially if it contains the following ingredients:

  • Flavoring using natural ingredients (might come from barley)
  • Flavorings that are synthetic (possibly coming from barley)
  • Seasonings (might contain wheat fillers)
  • Flavorings (may contain wheat fillers)


Editorial Staff

Our writers, editors, content managers, and SEO specialist. We all take part in crafting amazing articles. We spend hours ensuring that each article is based on facts, researched, and thorough. You'll never want to click the back button to look for more answers other than here!